Social welfare & social services

    Safeguarding Adults Under the Care Act 2014

    Paperback Save £0.54 = £19.45

    Following the Care Act 2014, this essential guide to adult safeguarding sets out the most current principles behind working in this area, presents core skills and knowledge to support best practice and shows how to overcome areas that present challenges to practitioners.

    Understanding Behaviour in Dementia that Challenges, Second

    By Ian Andrew James

    Paperback Save £1.29 = £23.71

    Recent revisions of the Newcastle Challenging Behaviour Model have prompted the second edition of this guide to assessing and treating a range of behaviours when caring for older people with dementia. New material includes the use of physical restraint during personal care, lies and deception, end of life issues, and...

    Confidential Source Ninety-Six

    By Roman Caribe

    Hardback Save £5.54 = £14.46

    In the tradition of Donnie Brasco and Under and Alone, this is the harrowing memoir of the most successful informant in law enforcement history: the man known as Confidential Source 96, who also happens to be a married father of four and a minister

    A Guide to Art Therapy Materials, Methods, and Applications: A Practical Step-by-Step Approach

    By Ellen G. Horovitz

    Paperback Save £1.46 = £24.53

    Written by a well-respected author and practitioner in the field of art therapy, A Guide to Art Therapy Materials, Methods, and Applications is an innovative, comprehensive text that guides readers in how to use basic to advanced art materials and methods in a wide range of clinical settings. Through the...

    Change for the Better

    By Elizabeth Wilde McCormick

    Paperback £27.80

    This bestselling book has helped thousands of people find ways of dealing with everyday emotional difficulties, and also supported practitioners and trainee psychotherapists in their work with patients.

    Psychodynamic Counselling in Action

    By Michael Jacobs

    Paperback £26.96

    Widely regarded as the most accessible introduction to the psychodynamic approach, this book covers everything from initial meeting right through to the end of the relationship.

    Children's Homes

    By Peter Higginbotham

    Paperback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    First ever book to survey the whole history of children s homes.

    An Internal Family Systems Guide to Recovery from Eating Disorders: Healing Part by Part

    By Amy Yandel Grabowski

    Paperback £16.88

    Drawing on the evidence-based Internal Family System IFS therapy model, An Internal Family Systems Guide to Recovery from Eating Disorders: Healing Part by Part addresses the necessity of healing the eating disorder sufferer's three groups of inner "Parts": the Mentors, the Advocates, and the Kids. In order to reconnect to...

    Ecotherapy in Practice: A Buddhist Model

    By Caroline Brazier

    Paperback Save £2.67 = £31.32

    Ecotherapy in Practice reflects the growing interest and research in this field. Drawing on a diversity of experience from the counselling and psychotherapy professions, but also from practitioners in community work, mental health and education, this book explores the exciting and innovative possibilities involved in practising outdoors. Caroline Brazier brings...

    Observation in Health and Social Care

    Paperback Save £1.29 = £23.70

    One of the key skills in effective health and social care is accurately identifying and assessing the client's needs. This theoretically informed guide will show you how to enhance and apply these pivotal observation skills in a variety of challenging health and social settings with children, families and adults.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7