Myth & legend

    Myths & Legends of the Brecon Beacons

    By Horatio Clare

    Hardback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    Doctor Who: Myths and Legends

    By Richard Dinnick

    Hardback £10.25

    For thousands of years, epic stories have been passed down from Time Lord to student, generation to generation. The truth of these tales was lost millennia ago, but the myths and legends themselves are timeless. Myths hold up a mirror to our past, present and future, explaining our culture, our...

    For the Winner

    By Emily Hauser

    Hardback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    Here is a heroine to cheer for and a book to cherish.' Margot Livesey, author of THE HOUSE ON FORTUNE STREET and THE FLIGHT OF GEMMA HARDY 'Hauser recreates one of the oldest tales in Greek myth with great skill and panache.' Sunday Times'Fascinating and innovative .

    Prey of Gods

    By Nicky Drayden

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    *A Wall Stree Journal "Summer Reading: One expert. One book" pick for 2017!*The RT Book Reviews "June 2017: Seal of Excellence" pick!*A B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog "Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far" pick! From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian...

    Beren and Luthien

    By J. R. R. Christie

    Hardback Save £27.54 = £47.46

    Painstakingly restored from Tolkien's manuscripts and presented for the first time as a continuous and standalone story, the epic tale of Beren and Luthien will reunite fans of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings with Elves and Men, Dwarves and Orcs and the rich landscape and creatures unique...

    Beren and Luthien

    By J. R. R. Tolkien

    Hardback £14.46

    Painstakingly restored from Tolkien's manuscripts and presented for the first time as a continuous and standalone story, the epic tale of Beren and Luthien will reunite fans of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings with Elves and Men, Dwarves and Orcs and the rich landscape and creatures unique...

    Ragnarok, Vol. 2 The Lord Of The Dead

    By Walter Simonson

    Hardback Save £6.74 = £16.25

    Ragnarok, the doom of the gods, has finally occurred. But the long-held belief that evil would be destroyed along with the gods in that final conflagration proved false. Only the gods died. The Nine Worlds collapsed and became the Dusk Lands, a vast twilight realm inhabited by men, trolls, demons,...

    House of Names

    By Colm Toibin

    Hardback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    THE TOP 10 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER'They cut her hair before they dragged her to the place of sacrifice. Her mouth was gagged to stop her cursing her father, her cowardly, two-tongued father. Nonetheless, they heard her muffled screams.'On the day of his daughter's wedding, Agamemnon orders her sacrifice. His daughter...

    Children of Jocasta

    By Natalie Haynes

    Hardback £12.65

    In The Children of Jocasta, Natalie Haynes takes a fresh perspective on an ancient story, reimagining in gripping prose how the Oedipus and Antigone stories would look if the oft-overlooked female characters took centre stage. Retelling the myth to reveal a new side of an ancient story . . ....

    Tatterdemalion

    By Sylvia V. Linsteadt

    Hardback £14.46

    Up in the glacial peaks, among a strange, mountainous people, a Juniper Tree takes Poppy deep into her roots and shows him the true stories of the people who made his world, people he thought were only myths. It is through this feral but redemptive folklore that Poppy begins to...

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 1 year ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7