Myth & legend

    'The Adventures of the Winged Prince'

    By John Stefan

    Paperback £5.99

    During a time of darkness a Winged prince is s ent by the gods to kill the evil King hell bent on ruling all around him. But will he succeed and face the land of evil?

    Star Tales

    By Ian Ridpath

    Paperback £19.50

    Every night, a pageant of Greek mythology circles overhead. Perseus flies to the rescue of Andromeda, Orion faces the charge of the snorting Bull, and the ship of the Argonauts sails in search of the Golden Fleece. Constellations are the invention of the human imagination, not of nature.

    Footprints Of Faith

    By Rodney Schofield

    Paperback £27.50

    The Hidden People

    By Alison Littlewood

    Paperback £7.04

    A chilling Gothic mystery from the bestselling author of Richard & Judy Book Club hit The Cold Season, perfect for fans of Susan Hill, The Coffin Path and The Silent Companions - where superstition and myth bleed into real life with tragic consequences.

    The Greek Myths: The Complete and Definitive Edition

    By Robert Graves

    Paperback £10.78

    *The definitive and comprehensive edition of Robert Graves's classic retelling of the Greek myths* 'Icarus disobeyed his father's instructions and began soaring towards the sun, rejoiced by the lift of his great sweeping wings. Presently, when Daedalus looked over his shoulder, he could no longer see Icarus; but scattered feathers...

    Once a Peacock, Once an Actress

    By Haribhatta

    Paperback £17.66

    Written in Kashmir around 400 CE, Haribhatta's Jatakamala is a remarkable example of classical Sanskrit literature in a mixture of prose and verse that for centuries was known only in its Tibetan translation. But between 1973 and 2004 a large portion of the Sanskrit original was rediscovered in a number...

    Myths & Legends of the Brecon Beacons

    By Horatio Clare

    Hardback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    Doctor Who: Myths and Legends

    By Richard Dinnick

    Hardback £10.25

    For thousands of years, epic stories have been passed down from Time Lord to student, generation to generation. The truth of these tales was lost millennia ago, but the myths and legends themselves are timeless. Myths hold up a mirror to our past, present and future, explaining our culture, our...

    For the Winner

    By Emily Hauser

    Hardback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    Here is a heroine to cheer for and a book to cherish.' Margot Livesey, author of THE HOUSE ON FORTUNE STREET and THE FLIGHT OF GEMMA HARDY 'Hauser recreates one of the oldest tales in Greek myth with great skill and panache.' Sunday Times'Fascinating and innovative .

    Prey of Gods

    By Nicky Drayden

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    *A Wall Stree Journal "Summer Reading: One expert. One book" pick for 2017!*The RT Book Reviews "June 2017: Seal of Excellence" pick!*A B&N Sci Fi and Fantasy Blog "Best Science Fiction & Fantasy Books of 2017 So Far" pick! From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian...

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7