Birds (ornithology)

    Handbook of Western Palearctic Birds

    By Lars Svensson

    Hardback £137.46

    This definitive new handbook is set to become the standard photographic reference for this region. No birders' shelf will be complete without it.

    Teach Yourself Bird Watching

    By George E. Hyde

    Hardback £7.25

    Appreciating the rich diversity of bird life on our island is about more than just looking out of the window. This beautiful book of birds, first published in 1962, is a wonderful resource for any amateur ornithologist of the present - or the past.

    Extinct Birds

    By Julian P. Hume

    Hardback Save £9.54 = £50.46

    Extinct Birds was the first comprehensive review of the hundreds of the bird species and subspecies that have become extinct over the last 1,000 years of habitat degradation, over-hunting and rat introduction. It has become the standard text on this subject, covering both familiar icons of extinction as well as...

    Shorebirds in Action

    By Richard Chandler

    Paperback Save £6.32 = £15.63

    Crow

    By Boria Sax

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    A classic account of the crow, now available in B-format paperback. Boria Sax looks at the crow in myth, literature and life, from Noah's raven to films such as The Crow.

    Lives of Dillon Ripley

    By Roger D. Stone

    Hardback £22.74

    The true story of the last Renaissance man

    Hen Harrier

    By Donald Watson

    Hardback Save £5.14 = £13.85

    An acknowledged classic of narrative nature-writing, Donald Watson's The Hen Harrier was the culmination of a lifetime's study of this beautiful upland bird. A gentle, warm and wonderfully written book, The Hen Harrier stems from an age of 'amateur' conservation, from the pen of a man who cared deeply about...

    Avian Cognition

    Hardback £65.84

    Birds have remarkable cognitive abilities, often on a par with those of apes and monkeys. This volume describes the full range of avian cognitive abilities, exploring what birds are able to do, how they do it and how this relates to the cognitive abilities of other species, including humans.

    Songs of Love and War

    By Dominic Couzens

    Hardback £12.65

    The dawn chorus: a single voice cutting through the darkness heralds a breaking wave of sound at the very beginning of the day. It is an iconic natural phenomenon with many familiar performers, yet it is a mysterious event for which there is no complete explanation. A mass of starlings...

    Raptor

    By James Macdonald Lockhart

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    Winner of The Royal Society of Literature Jerwood Award for Non-Fiction in 2011 and the Authors' Foundation Roger Deakin Award in 2011 A stunning debut in the tradition of Robert Macfarlane and Helen Macdonald

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7