Flat White Economy

    By

    Since the financial collapse of 2000, the 'flat white economy'-named after the coffee popular with young workers of media, internet and creative businesses-has spawned four times more jobs than the City lost in the crisis. London is now growing one and a half times faster than Hong Kong as a result, with immigration a driving force behind this triumph of lifestyle and economics. Leading economist Douglas McWilliams describes how this meteoric success, centred on East London where a growing 'hipster' community has swapped the City's champagne and supercars lifestyle for bicycles, boho flats and beards, has become the prototype for digital cities around the world. The Flat White Economy is the key book you need to read on London's economy today, written by an expert in his field. Easily accessible and well written, it will appeal to fans of Stephen J. Dubner's and Steven Levitt's Freakonomics and Chris Anderson's The Long Tail.

    View more

    Number of Pages: 208
    Format(s): Paperback - ISBN: 9780715650653
    Publication Date:
    Listed in: Media studies, Urban communities, Popular economics
    Publisher: Gerald Duckworth & Co Ltd

    Books by Douglas McWilliams

    Paperback

    RRP: £9.99

    Total: £8.45

    Save: £1.54 per copy!

    Side-Banner-Right-188px-fd.jpg
    Books TV & Movies

    You might also like...

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7