If You Like Bob Marley Here are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Films, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

    By

    IYL Bob Marley is the unique and utterly compulsive story of the King of Reggae, told not through the life and times of Marley himself, but through the music and magic of the musicians who grew up around, and under the influence of Bob Marley and his band, the Wailers. Outlining some 200 artists, albums, songs, movies, and books, IYL Bob Marley tells how reggae music was torn from the confines of a small-world music cult to become one of the biggest-selling genres popular music has ever known. Recommended performers and performances are analyzed in the depth that each deserves, as the book moves out of reggae's Jamaican heartland to track its influence across the world, from California punk to French pop and beyond. Genre-spanning countdowns of the best-ever Bob Marley covers, the greatest British ska, and even the rudest songs ever written populate the pages, as author Thompson highlights artists as far apart as Eric Clapton and Rancid, Bob Dylan and the Rolling Stones, and Serge Gainsbourg and the Clash. IYL Bob Marley digs deeply, too, into the annals of Jamaica's own star-studded musical history, to train fresh ears on such legends as Black Uhuru, Toots & the Maytals, Sean Paul, and Peter Tosh.

    View more

    Number of Pages: 192
    Format(s): Paperback - ISBN: 9781476886817
    Publication Date:
    Listed in: Reggae, Individual composers & musicians, specific bands & groups, Reference works
    Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation

    Books by Dave Thompson

    Paperback

    RRP: £11.99

    Sale Price: £9.65

    Save: £2.34 per copy!

    Side-Banner-Right-188px-fd.jpg
    Books TV & Movies

    You might also like...

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 3 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7