Books by Publisher: VIRAGO

    Outsiders

    By Lyndall Gordon

    Hardback £14.46

    An exciting and provocative look at the women who wrote the novels that changed the literary world - Mary Shelley, Emily Bronte, George Eliot, Olive Schreiner, Virginia Woolf - by the renowned biographer of Emily Dickinson

    Executioner of St Paul's

    By Susanna Gregory

    Paperback £7.85

    Chaloner the spy investigates a murder in a plague-ravaged 17th century London

    The Burning Girl

    By Claire Messud

    Hardback Save £4.34 = £12.65

    A bracing and hypnotic portrait of the complexities of female friendship from the New York Times bestselling author of The Woman Upstairs.

    What Katy Did at School

    By Susan Coolidge

    Paperback Save £0.34 = £6.65

    The 'What Katy Did' trilogy was first published in the late 1800s, but was there ever such a modern girl as wild, irrepressible Katy? One of the first realistic portraits of a child in literature, the character was groundbreaking and the book is as enjoyable today as when it was...

    What Katy Did

    By Susan Coolidge

    Paperback Save £0.34 = £6.65

    The 'What Katy Did' trilogy was first published in the late 1800s, but was there ever such a modern girl as wild, irrepressible Katy? One of the first realistic portraits of a child in literature, the character was groundbreaking and the book is as enjoyable today as when it was...

    Five Children and It

    By E. Nesbit

    Paperback Save £0.34 = £6.65

    E. Nesbit is one of the most influential children's writers ever to have lived and her work deserves a reappraisal. Modern fans include Neil Gaiman, J. K. Rowling, Jacqueline Wilson, Kate Saunders and Frank Cottrell-Boyce.

    Story of the Treasure Seekers

    By E. Nesbit

    Paperback Save £0.34 = £6.65

    Edith Nesbit was a hugely influential writer whose books include The Railway Children and Five Children and It. The Bastable Series is ripe for rediscovery, and will appeal to fans of Arthur Ransom's Swallows and Amazons, which it inspired.

    What Language Do I Dream In?

    By Elena Lappin

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    A moving and erudite memoir on the importance of language to who we are and an ode to the language that has given the author a home in exile.

    Living the Dream

    By Lauren Berry

    Hardback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    A funny, satirical, sharp and honest look at modern British life from the perspective of two young women. The launch of an exciting new voice from Virago Press.

    Hidden Room

    By Stella Duffy

    Hardback £12.65

    A gripping psychological suspense novel from CWA Dagger award-winning Stella Duffy.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7