Books by Publisher: Spitalfields Life Books

    Companions

    By Christina Hesselholdt

    Paperback Save £2.74 = £10.25

    In her first book to be translated into English, Christina Hesselholdt explores everyday life, the weight of the past and the difficulty of intimacy in a uniquely playful and experimental style. At once deeply comic and remarkably insightful, COMPANIONS is an exhilarating portrait of life in the twenty-first century.

    Moving Kings

    By Joshua Cohen

    Paperback £10.25

    A propulsive, incendiary novel about faith, race, class, and what it means to have a home, from Joshua Cohen, 'a major American writer' NEW YORK TIMES.

    Essayism

    By Brian Dillon

    Paperback Save £1.94 = £9.05

    ESSAYISM is a personal, critical and polemical book about the genre, its history and its contemporary possibilities, itself an example of what it describes: an essay that is curious and digressive and at the same time held together by a personal voice and a polemical point.

    Flights

    By Olga Tokarczuk

    Paperback Save £2.74 = £10.25

    FLIGHTS, which was awarded Poland's biggest literary prize in 2008, is a novel about travel in the twenty-first century and human anatomy. Olga Tokarczuk perfectly intertwines travel narratives and reflections on travel with observations on the body and on life and death

    Notes from No Man\'s Land: American Essays

    By Eula Biss

    Paperback £10.25

    NOTES FROM NO MAN'S LAND: AMERICAN ESSAYS begins with a series of lynchings and ends with a series of apologies. Eula Biss explores race in America and her response to the topic is informed by the experiences chronicled in these essays.

    Compass

    By Mathias Enard

    Paperback £11.45

    As night falls over Vienna, Franz Ritter, an insomniac musicologist, takes to his sickbed with an unspecified illness and spends a restless night drifting between dreams and memories, revisiting the important chapters of his life as an Orientalist.

    Doll's Alphabet

    By Camilla Grudova

    Paperback Save £1.94 = £9.05

    Surreal, ambitious, and exquisitely conceived, THE DOLL'S ALPHABET is a collection of stories in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood.

    Nocilla Experience

    By Agustin Fernandez Mallo

    Paperback Save £2.74 = £10.25

    NOCILLA EXPERIENCE in the second volume in the celebrated Nocilla trilogy by Agustin Fernandez Mallo, which brought about an important shift in contemporary Spanish writing and paved the way for the birth of a new generation of authors, known as the 'Nocilla Generation'.

    Primer for Cadavers

    By Ed Atkins

    Paperback Save £2.74 = £10.25

    One of the most widely celebrated artists of his generation, Atkins makes videos, draws and writes, exploiting and subverting the conventions of moving image and literature. A PRIMER FOR CADAVERS collects his fictions for the first time.

    The Hatred of Poetry

    By Ben Lerner

    Paperback Save £1.54 = £8.45

    The novelist and poet Ben Lerner argues that our hatred of poetry is ultimately a sign of its nagging relevance.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7