Books by Publisher: QUARTET BOOKS

    Far to Go and Many to Love

    By Lesley Blanch

    Hardback Save £7.54 = £17.46

    A charming selection of writings by a twentieth century luminary. This selection of Lesley Blanch's early journalism, essays and travelling tales forms a brilliant sequel to On the Wilder Shores of Love.

    Which Yet Survive...

    By John Mills

    Hardback £17.46

    In this charming memoir chemist and aficionado of the arts John Mills embarks on a journey from the 1950's Soho scene to the furthest reaches of a waning British Empire and beyond.

    Major/Minor

    By Alba Arikha

    Paperback £8.46

    A vivid and haunting coming of age memoir set in Paris in the 1980s. Originally published to widespread critical acclaim, this luminously honest book chronicles the pain of growing up in an illustrious yet dysfunctional family.

    Truth Game

    By Vanessa Nicolson

    Hardback £11.46

    A breathtakingly honest memoir by the granddaughter of Vita Sackville-West, this beautifully written recollection of the friends, lovers and family who have played a vital role in Vanessa's life is a stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed 'Have You Been Good?'

    Heat

    By Sally Emerson

    Paperback £8.46

    An intense and addictive novel about lost love and the compulsive pull of the past. Passionate, tense and menacing, Sally Emerson's classic tale of obsession in a claustrophobic city is an emotional thriller from start to finish. Newly re-issued as part of a series of six titles.

    Fire Child

    By Sally Emerson

    Paperback £8.46

    Hypnotic, vivid and unputdownable, Sally Emerson's novel about two erratic adolescents pulsates with lust and black humour. Newly re-issued as part of a series of six titles

    Mother of Darkness

    By Venetia Welby

    Hardback £11.46

    A surreal and startling debut novel about what it means to lose everything. Set in the squalid backstreets of present day Soho, this is a tale of drug abuse and delusion. A must read for fans of Bret Easton Ellis, Jay McInerney and Donna Tartt.

    Orwell Essays

    By Brian Sewell

    Paperback Save £2.34 = £9.66

    A collection of erudite and typically contrarian essays from the late great art critic. Writing for the Evening Standard, but ever unwilling to tow the line, Brian gives uncompromising, witty and cultured opinions on the hot topics of his day, many of which are startlingly relevant now.

    Nine Love Letters

    By Gerald Jacobs

    Hardback Save £5.54 = £14.46

    A heart-rending tale of two families fleeing the horrors of the holocaust. As violence and hatred sweep across Europe and the Middle East under the Nazis, this novel tells the story of two Jewish refugee families whose lives unexpectedly converge in post-war London.

    Coming Out: The Emergence of LGBT Identities in Britain from

    By Jeffrey Weeks

    Paperback Save £3.54 = £11.45

    The definitive history of the LGBT community's struggle for equality. A compelling and comprehensive account of British LGBT lives from the late 1800s to the present day, written by a leading authority.

    Latest from the blog

    Fantastic new recipe book from Sabrina Ghayour 'Sirocco'

    Sabrina Ghayour's long awaited second recipe book Sirocco is out this month and is a great follow up to Persianna. Read article

    Ten Great Bedtime Reads from The Great British Bookshop and Aspace

    We have teamed up with Aspace (www.aspace.co.uk) who create beautiful room for Children to bring you 10 great bedtime reads for your little ones. Read article

    Latest from Twitter

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Lottery funding for dementia reading project £2m pledged for Reading Agency scheme to pair readers with dementia sufferers

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has held on to the number one spot for a sixth week #HarryPotter #CursedChild @littlebrown @pottermore

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      @thebookseller @MartinaCole @Jeffrey_Archer @Foyles

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      Frith wins inaugural Klaus Flugge Prize for illustration t.co/U9P08h4XMG

    • @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      RT @Gue_de_Bost: #Dordogneholidaycottage available Sept tweet to book for more info

      @TheGBBookshop - 2 years ago

      The editor is just back from france @HomeAwayUK! t.co/IWutTER1x7